News

Deactivating your Facebook Profile Disables your Oculus Profile, it Also Takes Away all your Games, Purchases and Progress

The developers behind Oculus VR headsets have announced that the ones that are owners of these headsets, will officially lose access to the games they have purchased if they decide to delete their Facebook account.

This new decision will be implemented when Quest 2 is released. The ones that are first time users of the headset will need to link or make a Facebook account, while the existing users can immediately link their Oculus and Facebook accounts, which they can think about it until January 1st, 2023. Facebook confirmed that the ones who own the original Quest, Rift, or Rift S will not get affected if they haven’t linked their profile and later decide to delete their FB accounts.

After the date mentioned above, users who will not link their account can continue using the device but without the, what they stated, “full” functionality, meaning that some games and apps will not work anymore. It is also stated that all future Oculus devices will require a Facebook account.

“Giving people a single way to log into Oculus—using their Facebook account and password – will make it easier to find, connect, and play with friends in VR,” Oculus said in August. “We know that social VR has so much more to offer, and this change will make it possible to integrate many of the features people know and love on Facebook.”

Oculus has also said that many players are already logging into Oculus with their existing Facebook accounts because they want “to use features like chats, parties, and events, or to tune into live experiences in Oculus Venues.”

Dejan Kacurov

Hi, gamers! You can call me Mr. DComplex. I'm a gamer, a hardcore gamer. My favorite genres are Action RPG and MMORPG. At the moment I'm using my PC as my only gaming platform, but soon I might get a new PS4 from Angel. Update - Angel did get me a PS4, oh wait, it's the PS4 PRO 1TB!!! Much love bro!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button